Some info on HR 875 – The Food Safety Modernization Act of 2009

I’m always wary when the government gets involved (or more involved as the case may be) in any part of our lives.  Freedom and liberty almost always fall to the “greater good”.  Such is life in a democracy I suppose, despite the fact that our Constitution lays out a representitive republic and not a democracy.

At any rate, there’s much to do about a new bill that’s currently in committe – HR 875.  Though the sponsor of the bill has stated that there’s no attempt to regulate small farms that don’t participate in interstate trade and who may find the cost of complying with such legislation burdensome, you have to be suspicious of this section (406) of the bill:  “In any action to enforce the requirements of the food safety law, the connection with interstate commerce required for jurisdiction shall be presumed to exist.”  And the author of the bill is either lying or ignorant of the facts when we are reminded that the Supreme Court ruled in 1942 in Wickard v. Filburn that “food on your own land for your own consumption to be regulatable interstate commerce.”

For those further interested, here’a a pretty reasoned and informed article about the matter from Reason Online and be sure to read about those sections of the bill that have the potential to end the organic production of food.

And finally for those who have the time and actually want to read the bill, here it is

I can’t wait for yet another government agency laying down regulations as if ordained by god, in this case the Food Safety Administration that will fall under the reign of the Department of Health and Human Services.  Let’s hear it for larger, more expensive, more obtrusive and less effective government.  Yeah!

Sauteed Sweetbreads with Sherry-Mustard Butter

img_01241

 

Last night I completed the sweetbreads by making them according to the recipe from Susan Spicer’s Crescent City Cooking.

After poaching them in half water/half milk and some sweated mirepoix, I pressed them between two sheet pans for about 8 hours before I cleaned them, though you could certainly press overnight if you had the time (I didn’t).

Aside from the sweetbreads the only other unique ingredient needed is creole mustard, which I was able to find pretty easily.

I also added sauteed oyster mushrooms to the dish – I’m sure asaparagus and/or pearl onions would go quite nicely as well.  I was going to sprinkle with a little bit of chive only to realize that it had gone bad in my fridge.  I really don’t think it would have made too much of a difference though.

All in all this is a solid recipe that I strongly recommend.  It’s a great introduction to sweetbreads and not a very difficult recipe to do at home at all.