Chile shrimp and grits with bacon jam and Russian kale

This was really good, bordering on the incredible, so I thought I’d share:

20150328_204618

For the grits

I don’t really have a recipe I follow, and I’m not sure how legit my grits are, but this is what I do:  finely chop half an onion and sweat with an ample amount of butter.  Add a teaspoon of chopped thyme and cook for 30 seconds.  Pour in 2 cups of half and half and 2 cups of chicken stock, bring to a simmer, then slowly add about a cup of grits in a stream while whisking so as to prevent it from lumping.  Turn the heat to low, adding more liquid as necessary and cook until done, stirring occasionally and seasoning with salt and white pepper throughout.

For the shrimp & sauce

  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 3/4 tsp ancho chile powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground arbol chili
  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled & deveined
  • 1/2 each red and yellow pepper, small dice
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • Salt & pepper

Combine the cumin, ancho powder and ground arbol and combine with the shrimp.  Cook your shrimp over medium high heat, flip when the first side is done and add the diced peppers, cook until the shrimp is just cooked and the peppers are tender crisp.  Add the chicken stock and lime juice, mount with a tablespoon of butter and season.

For the kale

Wilt some kale over medium heat with butter, add water if you need (I did), season.

Click here for the bacon jam recipe

To assemble

Place the grits in bowl, spoon some warm bacon jam into the bowl, add some kale and top with the shrimp and sauce.

Leave a comment