The garden a little over a month old

The first things I planted were some broccoli and cauliflower seedlings on March 10.  On March 11 I sowed a small variety of seeds including beets, pac choi, pirat lettuce, buttercrunch lettuce, green onions, kale, radicchio, mizuna and mustard greens.  Of that batch everything has done fairly well except for the pirat greens which have been a total let down (of 12 seeds sowed since March 11 just 1 has germinated!).

In the month and a few days since I began I’ve sown radishes in 3 batches, beets, chard, shallots, leeks, kohlrabi, carrots, parsnips, fennel, salsify, marigold and nasturtium, plus more plots of everything from the first sowing.

What have I learned in that time?  That slugs are the enemy; that (so far) this isn’t all that hard if you’re willing to devote a little time to maintaining, watering, weeding, thinning and killing slugs.  Because yes, even using the square foot gardening method, and even though my beds are just over a month old, I’ve got a few weeds coming up here and there.

All in all I’ve found the time spent in the garden relaxing and therapeutic even, given all that’s gone on with our daughter’s health this spring.

Here are some photographs I took earlier this afternoon while the kids were asleep:

Pac choi

Pac choi

Swiss chard

Swiss chard

Buttercrunch lettuce

Buttercrunch lettuce

Beets - my 2nd planting had a much higher germination rate than this 1st one

Beets – my 2nd planting had a much higher germination rate than this 1st one

Broccoli

Broccoli

Broccoli and beets

Broccoli and beets

Mizuna in the foreground, arugula, radishes in front of the tomatoes, cauliflower and broccoli

Mizuna in the foreground, arugula, radishes in front of the tomatoes, cauliflower and broccoli

Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi

Patricia radish

Patricia radish

Cheriette radish

Cheriette radish

 

Fortunately the slugs only really went after my newest radishes the other night, which grow so fast that they don’t seem to be too bad off.  The next day I bought some organic slug pellets and began “hunting” at night with a head lamp on.  Me with a head lamp on, a beer in one hand and tweezer tongs in the other stomping on slugs is probably a pretty funny sight that I hope the neighbors appreciate.

I’m hoping to harvest the first set of radishes here soon, and then after that am hoping the mizuna, arugula and pac choi will be ready to do something with, before the deer get clued in to what’s going on in my front yard and eat everything before I get to.

Leave a Reply

