How Fox missed the boat and f*cked my Sunday morning up

A month or so ago a friend of mine asked me what I thought of Fox carrying some premiership games live.  I responded that I was pretty excited and thought it was a good thing.

The first live broadcast was today between Arsenal and Manchester United, and let me tell you, my initial excitement quickly faded to being pretty pissed off.  After weeks of advertising the match, why on earth was it preempted by paid programming and then by a baptist church service in the Raleigh/Durham area?  And then, when it does come on an hour and a half later (when the match is already over), it’s not in hi-def?  You’ve got to be fucking kidding me, right?

Throughout the south it appears this was pretty much the norm (at least about the tape delay), based on comments I read over at SoccerbyIves.

For my part I e-mailed both my local Fox affiliate and Fox expressing my disappointment  about today’s broadcast and concern over future broadcasts (the next of which is between Chelsea and United on superbowl Sunday – yay, I can’t wait).  I’m also sending another e-mail to the local affiliate about how shitty it was to watch blurry figures moving across my tv because they couldn’t be bothered broadcasting in hi-def.

Anyway, thanks Fox for fucking it all up.  Would you please just broadcast these matches back on FoxSoccer now?  I’d greatly appreciate it, and I’m pretty sure there are a bunch of other people out there who feel the same.

Leave a Reply

