Dinner April 15, 2011 – Homemade French bread

Homemade French bread (baguette), country pate, blueberry mostarda, cornichons and mustard

 

After taking some time off from this blog and even baking/cooking for the past month or so, I made the above platter as a starter for dinner this past Friday (alright, so I didn’t make the cornichons or the mustard, but I did make everything else).

In making the pate, I learned that Nate loves it and has even added it to his vocabulary. 

As for the French bread, it’s not the best I’ve ever had but it’s above what I can purchase at a grocery store, and it really isn’t that hard.  Reinhart’s recipe is easy to follow.  The only problem I encountered is that I could only bake 2 loaves at a time, while the recipe calls for 3.  This meant that the 3rd loaf continued to proof while the first two baked, and proofed so much that it flattened a little in the oven.  Had I known this I probably would have slowed it down by placing it in the fridge.  It’s still tasty though.

For our main course I made Suzanne Goin’s recipe for Stuffed Chicken Leg “Poule au Pot” from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything:  Bittman Takes on America’s Chefs.  This is really probably my very favorite thing in the world to eat, but I have to admit that making it in a home kitchen is a time consuming process as there’s a lot of components (first you have to debone chicken legs, then make stuffing, a compound butter, sage broth and the cornichon mix).

Stuffed Chicken Leg "Poule au Pot"

For dessert I made strawberry tartlets and yet again have failed to take a photograph of a dessert.  It was delicious though.

Leave a Reply

