Whole Wheat Part II – failure again

Fuck it.  I think the recipe’s flawed.  Or the oatmeal is ground too fine.  If you ever read this Peter Reinhart (not that I’m counting on it), please shed some light on the matter.

I got more rise today during the proofing stage, but not nearly enough to make for an edible loaf of bread.  I was satisfied with the dough itself, whereas yesterday I was not.

I’m not totally done with whole wheat though, as I plan on researching other recipes to determine exactly what’s wrong with this one.

Next up is potato and rosemary bread.  Something I know I can do and that will restore the little amount of confidence I lost.  If it doesn’t rise then I’ll at least know my yeast has gone bad and everything will make sense.

Leave a Reply

