Project Zonoscope – part I

As I’d written about a little while back, I’m a little saddened these days about the lack of a build-up concerning new album releases.

My good friend (and fellow music nerd) Jon recommended we pick an album we’re both excited about that’s coming out early in 2011, and we thusly agreed upon Zonoscope by Cut Copy.

For those unaware Cut Copy are an excellent band from Australia, and Zonoscope, released February 8, will be their third full length album.

To help build some excitement (at least for me), here’s the track listing:

  1. Need You Now
  2. Take Me Over
  3. Where I’m Going
  4. Pharaohs and Pyramids
  5. Blink and You’ll Miss a Revolution
  6. Strange Nostalgia for The Future
  7. This Is All We’ve Got
  8. Alisa
  9. Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat
  10. Corner of the Sky
  11. Sun God


The first single is Take Me Over:

I have to admit it represents no departure over anything from their previous album, especially when considering how different Where I’m Going sounded, though apparently the album version will be different:

So long as the songwriting remains as strong as their last album, In Ghost Colours, which remains one of my favorite albums of the last decade or so, I’ll be content.

Leave a Reply

