Eating international at home

Born partly out of boredom and partly out of trying to introduce myself, Erin and Nate to new foods (and cooking techniques), I’ve decreed that at least once a week I’m making and we’re eating something from somewhere else.  It doesn’t have to be amazingly different – French, English or Italian will work – but it can’t be burgers and fries, or spaghetti and meatballs.  It’s got to be a coq au vin made with an old hen from the Chinese market, or home-made fish and chips or roast beef with Yorkshire pudding.

This all started a couple of weeks ago when we were both craving Indian food, and not wanting to go out for it, I went on a search for a chicken tikka masala recipe.  I know it’s not traditional Indian, but it’s delicious and different from what we would normally have in the middle of the week.  I then remembered that Gordon Ramsay had a recipe for tandoori halibut that we both really liked a couple of months ago, so I searched on Gordon Ramsay Chicken Tikka Masala and this recipe came up.

So I made it and it was really delicious, and a lot more authentic tasting than what I’ve normally had in Indian restaurants in the States (people usually add cream to the dishes here and I hate that.  It sucks and isn’t authentic and makes it taste, well, creamy).  Not to mention that with the bold flavors and mild heat, Nate loved the shit out of it.  He was a curry eating machine for those two nights.

So that’s when I decided that we’d do something different, and now I think we’re hooked. 

Tonight we’re having Banh Mi along with some spring rolls (Goi Cuon) with a hoison peanut dipping sauce (I absolutely love spring rolls).  I just ground the pork for the meatballs and the kitchen smells wonderful, and I have yet to even cook anything.  Just the aroma of the fish sauce and sriracha and basil and garlic are lingering.

Next week I’m thinking of giving lamb Rogan Josh a stab while Erin has put in a request for moo shoo pork.  And I’m serious about the coq au vin, just when it’s no longer 95 degrees outside.  I’ve never made tamales or pupusas, but I’m going to do it this year damn it.  I also really want to make pho with beef tendon, tripe and all the trimmings once it cools off a little.

If anyone has any ideas for something, then please throw them out there.  I can find any ingredients down here (which is a nice lead-in to my next post), from anything Asian to Latin American.

For my part I’ll try my best to document the process and post the recipes along with pictures.

2 thoughts on “Eating international at home

  1. Kudos to you. I was in a similar rut this summer, but those ruts are the perfect time to advance your cooking. That Gordon Ramsey restaurant looks awesome, and Indian is one of those cuisines I’m afraid to try — perfect excuse to dive in!

  2. Pingback: This week’s international dish. . . « Red Devil in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

