Banh Mi verdict

Banh Mi

Nate loved his deconstructed banh mi and we loved our constructed version.  Here’s the recipe, which I followed pretty closely.

Nate loved it so much that he had trouble deciding what to put in his mouth.  And we were surprised to see him go for the carrot and daikon over the meatball.

Pork meatballs

As for the recipe, I followed it pretty closely, though I ground my own pork, and when I did ground the meat I ground it with all the seasonings (sort of like making pate).

In addition to the sandwiches, we also had spring rolls with lettuce, cucumber, carrot, bean sprouts, mint and basil.  For the dipping sauce, I mixed 1/2 coup hoisin sauce, 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1 tbsp rice vinegar, 1 smashed garlic clove and 1 chili split in half.  I question the authenticity, but it was pretty darn tasty.

These are definitely 2 recipes I recommend, though it requires a fair amount of prep beforehand.  Well worth it though.

2 thoughts on “Banh Mi verdict

Leave a Reply

