The current plan and options for the future

This is my second week of being a full-time stay at home dad.  Erin and I made that decision two weeks ago and we promptly withdrew Nate from daycare.

The reasons you ask?  They were plenty.  The timing of me not working sort of was just working out – this is Erin’s busy time at work (until March some time) and with her still recovering from postpartum depression, it was an easy decision for me.  I know she could have dealt with waking up, getting herself and Nate ready for the day, dropping him off at daycare, going to work until 5 or 6, picking him up, feeding him, putting him to bed and then dealing with her own dinner, then going to bed and waking up and doing it all over again, but how fucking tedious and miserable is that?  That routine’s not going to get anyone better anytime soon. 

I know that as a husband and a father I have a roll in Erin’s recovery, and I wasn’t able to fulfill the obligations to my family while working the hours required of being a sous chef or line cook.

In terms of cooking, I have no idea when I’ll go back to working in a kitchen.  I have still been keeping my eye out for listings just in case the perfect opportunity arises.  Suffice it to say that it hasn’t.  So in the interim my plan is to stage here and there to keep my hand in it and to hopefully learn some new things, plus I’ll get to meet some more people down here.

So that’s that for now.

Today is absolutely gorgeous out (about 70 and sunny), I don’t have to go to work and I get to hang out with my favorite person in the world (who’s blowing raspberries as I write this).  This is awesome.

4 thoughts on “The current plan and options for the future

  1. Have you ever checked out Homebrewchef.com? The chef is named Sean Paxton. He’s a former restaurant chef and now a stay at home dad, too. His recipes have been amazing. His beer is getting huge acclaim.

Leave a Reply

