Favorite Songs of 2009

In keeping with the spirit of the ‘indie music loving’ part of the name of this blog, here are my favorite songs and albums of the past year.  I was going to do my favorites of the decade (a la Jon at his blog), alas the time necessary is just too much.

I’ll start with my favorite songs and possibly in another post will share my favorite albums of the year:

Stronger than Jesus by A Camp – is that Nina from the Cardigans? Why it most certainly is:

Not Fair by Lily Allen – Not a song for the kids to be sure, but still a catchy song about giving head and not having that favor repaid:

Shine Like the Sun by Bad Lieutenant

Flashing Red Light Means Go by Boxer Rebellion – Not a band most people have heard but don’t let that deter you from enjoying:

French Navy and My Maudlin Career by Camera Obscura – this album is packed with great songs, so here’s just two of them:

People Got a Lotta Nerve by Neko Case:

My Body’s a Zombie for You by Dead Man’s Bones – is it Arcade Fire meets Joy Division? I don’t know, but it’s fucked up and fun at the same time and Ryan Gosling is one wacky dude:

Kingdom of Rust and 10.03 by Doves – from another of my favorite albums, too hard to pick just one song:

Bricks and Mortar by Editors – no video here, just the song

Lucid Dreams and Katherine Kiss Me by Franz Ferdinand – 2 so very different songs yet from the same album

Black Hearted Love by PJ Harvey and John Parish – one of my all time favorite songs on one of the worst albums I’ve ever listened to, how strange:

Remorse Code by Richard Hawley – This album isn’t everybody’s cup of tea, but for me it’s a classic. For me it’s most likely due to the timing of it coming out and what I was going through at that time.

Questing, Not Coasting by Maximo Park – A return to form from these Geordies:

Blindness by Metric:

Something is Squeezing my Skull by Morrissey – The old man is so convincing when he sings that “there is no hope in modern life”:

Young Adult Friction by The Pains of Being Pure at Heart – I could have picked all 10 tracks from this album, but ended up selecting this one:

Sleepyhead by Passion Pit – maybe this came out last year, but it’s on an album that came out this year, so I’m including it:

Lay it Down by Peter, Bjorn & John – So maybe there are better songs on their album, but it feels so good to sing along to the chorus of “Hey shut the fuck up boy, you are starting to piss me off”, and this video is pretty good as well:

1901 by Phoenix – Everybody’s probably so sick of this song and album already (especially the Cadillac commercial), but it’s still great, as was their performance of it on Letterman (I also like the way Letterman says “an acclaimed rock band from France?”:

Laughing With by Regina Spektor:

Marrow by St. Vincent – another performance on Letterman, it’s so weird and yet so good and possibly the best song of the year:

For Prayer by Wye Oak – who knew there were any bands from Baltimore?

Soft Shock by Yeah Yeah Yeah’s – this is completely different than the original but equally as good:

2 thoughts on “Favorite Songs of 2009

  1. Great list, I’m with you on the Phoenix and TPOBPAH, and interesting choices for the rest. I’m glad you dig the Editors, it’s a very polarizing disc. My 2009 list will be out this weekend.

Leave a Reply

