I have bacon curing in my fridge. . .

and I bet you’re jealous.  I also have a duck breast curing for proscuitto, which should be done by Sunday, while the bacon should be finished a week from today, after I rinse it, remove the skin and smoke it.

It’s difficult for me to say which I’m most excited about, because I’ve spent the past couple of days doing all kinds of cool shit.  Yesterday I bought a duck and confited the legs which we ate tonight.  Obviously, I am curing one of those breasts; the other I froze. 

I roasted the carcass, neck and heart and made stock overnight.  When I woke up today I rehydrated some currants in port, burned off the alcohol and reduced, then added the liquid to the duck stock and reduced down to a jus which tastes outstanding (I now have beef, port and mushroom jus as well as the duck and currant jus at home, surely another reason you’re jealous).

Anyway, here’s some photographs of what I’ve been up to the last couple of days:

Foie gras, pickled fennel and radish with mint, blueberry and fennel compote

Foie gras, pickled fennel and radish with mint, blueberry and fennel compote

 

Sweetbreads, sweet potato, sauteed frisee with beef/port/mushroom jus

Sweetbreads, sweet potato, sauteed frisee with beef/port/mushroom jus

 

The bacon cure - pink salt, sugar and kosher salt

The bacon cure - pink salt, sugar and kosher salt

 

 

Soon to be bacon

Soon to be bacon

 

All the important shit - beer, duck fat, curing pork belly and lemon confit that will be done just before Christmas.  The duck breast is hanging on the door out of view in this one.

All the important shit - beer, duck fat, curing pork belly and lemon confit that will be done just before Christmas. The duck breast is hanging on the door out of view in this one.

2 thoughts on “I have bacon curing in my fridge. . .

  1. Maybe – I’ll see how it turns out before I promise you anything. Bacon for cake is a pretty curious – but equitable in my eyes – trade. Maybe we could combine efforts and come up with bacon cake. . .

Leave a Reply

