A triumphant return. . .

. . .to the cold line that is.  I was scheduled to do double duty tonight on the raw and garde manger/dessert stations tonight.  It’s been a while since I’ve worked down there, and even with having to learn a few new dishes (and not being the fastest oyster and clam shucker on earth), I held my own pretty well and for the most part enjoyed myself.

Tomorrow I return to the world of fish for the remainder of the weekend, which will prove to be busy with a combination clusterfuck – graduation weekend and Mother’s Day.  I’m just thankful I don’t work brunch, though we’re already up to 110 reservations for dinner service Sunday night.  In fact Chef just told me tonight that he’s going to be my assistant for Sunday night, which is undoubtedly a comfort, since I”ll still struggle just to keep up with proteins, let alone the side dishes.

I’m already feeling tired and the weekend hasn’t even really begun.  I’m just thankful that for the first time in a couple of weeks I don’ t have anything to do on my days off next week, so I can hang out with the dog and cat and hopefully get some sun on my pale ass skin.

One thought on “A triumphant return. . .

Leave a Reply

