Instant Karma

After I arrived home last night and while I was eating my dinner, I checked my e-mail only to find this from my friend who still barely works there:

“Guess what I heard today?  Apparently L*** told J***** that you (and D**) were let go because they wanted someone that cared more about the food.
 
How’s that for a laugh?”

That’s right, the wife’s owner is telling the guy who replaced me that I (and the previous sous chef) were fired.  Kind of weird because the sous chef was a no call/no show (as I previously wrote about) and I distinctly remember giving notice last Friday.  Oh well. 

But how’s this for karma?  The guy brought in to replace me already has another job and from what I heard likely won’t last a full week,.  And my friend may be gone in a week as well as he has something lined up.

As for me, things are looking up.  Last night I ran the station almost entirely by myself (which is good because the hot line got murdered last night).  The environment is a complete 180 from where I was working, which is exactly what I was looking for.

3 thoughts on “Instant Karma

  1. Seriously, i have to agree with that.. that fuckwad owner and his shrew of a wife either run the biz into the ground or, even more amusing, will end up on Kitchen Nightmares. That would be Karma.

  2. Since I’m doing the work of two people and I’m her only chef I negotiated a raise and I get OT. When I do get paid it’s almost the pay for two. It’s just so unstable when you have to be harrassing for your paycheck every week. I don’t know how much longer I can stay. There’s so much BS to deal with because the owner is a huge idiot. I have so many crazy stories but I don’t want to air them out on the internet!

Leave a Reply

