Lineup change

I arrived to work on Tuesday at 10, only to learn that the sous chef wasn’t there because he had apparently been in a car accident.  I went about setting up the line and the other cook came in early.

Fortunately another cook had just started last Saturday, so he came in a little early as well to help out with the prep tasks (Tuesdays are the worst days because the restaurant has been closed for two days).

So yesterday came and went and there was still no word about his condition, other than that we were informed that the owners decided it was time to let him go.  Thank god. 

This week has seen us all working long hours again, and for some reason I’ve been the one to come in at 9 a.m. every day of the week, with tomorrow and Saturday offering no reprieve, though it means I’m the first to go home once the rush is over – which is why I’m home right now.

2 thoughts on “Lineup change

  1. Love reading your blog, do you have a good Foie gras Terrine recipe that doesn’t require me to cook or sear slices of foie before going into the terrine?

  2. Rama, glad you keep reading, I know you’ve posted before.

    As for a recipe, I’ve only seen my chef make a terrine de foie gras, and know that the steps are as follows:

    Devein the foie gras and marinate it in just the slightest amount of port and cognac, seasoned with salt and pepper.

    The next day he then presses it into a loaf pan or terrine mold if you have one, and cooks it in a water bath at 350 for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes put the terrine directly in the cooler.

    Once cooled we make a gelee out of about a cup of white wine, half a cup of port, half a cup of sugar and some raspberry puree with about 4-5 gelatin sheets dissolved in this mixture. Pour the hot gelee onto the top of the foie gras and place directly in the freezer until it’s set.

    I hope this helps you out, I wish I could be more specific though. If you do this let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

