My least favorite dish

With great sadness I have discovered that my least favorite dish on the new menu is the charcuterie plate.

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a connoisseur of cured meats.  And we offer some pretty good sausages at the restaurant, including a Spanish blood sausage that is absolutely delicious.

But with five sausages on the plate plus garnishes, it’s weirdly the most time consuming dish from my station in terms of plating.  At first I thought it would be easy – no cooking, right? 

This past Saturday we were in the middle of the big rush when three successive orders came in, which put my station firmly in the shits.

Hopefully when I have enough time I can pre-portion everything out on a sheet tray or even plate a few up and wrap the plates in plastic so that we can avoid what happened to us a few days ago.

On the positive side though is that all the desserts are simple to plate.  I guess I should be happy about that.

Leave a Reply

