5 Days of Ass Kicking Fun

The last five days of work have been something else.  Maybe because the weather has ever so slightly warmed up, maybe because the days are a little longer, but the restaurant has been busy.

Tonight we were peeling and de-veining shrimp to order, while still trying to prep shit out for the coming week, because we were practically out of everything already.

I was going to skip school tomorrow to sleep in but found out I have to attend because it’s our ‘practical’ for the front of the house work.  Unsurprisingly I picked the job of server out of a hat – my least favorite position.

At any rate, I’m happy at the moment because I’m listening to the new James song called Whiteboy – probably my favorite band of all time if I had a gun to my head or in a desert island situation.

Next week I start the kitchen work of the cafe at school.  On Wednesday of next week another guy and myself are doing a five course degustation.  We’ve decided our theme is banana/plantain.  So far we’ve come up with seared foie gras with deep fried plantain (or banana), a ceviche served with plantain chips (cut thin on a meat slicer – hopefully this works), tostones (sort of a fried mash of plantain – not sure what we’re serving this with), and for dessert a banana flan.  We still need to come up with a main protein course.

We have to decide everything by Friday so that the chef can place the order for our goods.

Good night.

One thought on “5 Days of Ass Kicking Fun

Leave a Reply

