Back to school

Winter break is over though with the weather outside you’d think it was Spring break that just ended.

Here’s a brief run down of the two classes I’m in:

Menu planning & Design

 Hopefully this will prove to be as interesting as it sounds – I think it will.  Basically we have one project for this, which, as you may have guessed, is to create a menu.

There’s actually more work to it than simply creating a menu (which isn’t as easy as you may think).  In essence we have to come up with the concept for a restaurant we’d like to open, complete with mission statement and other such controlling documents. 

I’ve already come up with a number of menu items.  I’m looking to have the menu split evenly between seafood and land animals with a few options for vegans.

Wine and beverage

Drinking wine – I mean tasting wine – at 9:30 a.m. is usually not my thing but I’ll make an exception here since it’s for my own edification.  The instructor looks like the kind of person who may just drink at 9:30 or even earlier.  Which is ok, as long as he’s sober enough to convey the information we need.

This actually looks to be a pretty exciting course.  Today we only tasted two wines with some blue cheese and fig.  Actually I think it was the same wine but served at different temperatures.  The point of the fig and cheese was to see what that did to the astringency.  Unsurprisingly the fat in the cheese made the slightly warmer glass considerably more tolerable to the palate.

So there you go, that’s what I’m up to at the moment.  I’ll be looking for a job shortly, so that should add some excitement.  I won’t be doing any cooking in school until mid-March, so I figure now is the time to get my feet wet.

To end, here’s an interesting article written by Harold McGee on the nature of heat that was published last week in the NY Times – enjoy.

Leave a Reply

