Haven’t lost a finger yet

“Yes Chef!”  Whatever she wants, she gets.

I’ll admit – I’m a little sore.  I sliced some skin off my finger yesterday doing an orange supreme; I’m not sleeping well because I’m terrified of sleeping in, and hell, I’ve been sitting in a gray and gloomy cubicle for nearly the last 10 years and now I’m standing on my feet working my ass off.  I’m enjoying every second of it.

 Today we learned to tourne – turn in English – potatoes.  These are  little football shaped cuts, about 2 inches in length, 3/4 of an inch at it’s widest and having 7 sides.  Everyone in class was challenged by this one but it was the kind of task that made everyone quiet which was kind of cool.  Today was also the first day of actual cooking, not just knife skills, however it still feels like I haven’t cooked yet as these were all group assignments.

Tomorrow is a vocabulary quiz, possibly my first vocab quiz since junior high.  Friday is our first practical – she calls out a cut, say medium dice, and we have to cut 1/2 x 1/2 x 1/2 inch cubes of carrot.  Or batonnet (1/4 x 1/4 x 2.5 inches), or julienne, etc.

Next Monday we actually have a written report due.  Our selection of 3 topics, but I’m going to profile Grant Achatz of Alinea (see previous post, I’m too lazy to provide the link).  I can probably write a profile off the top of my head.

I appreciate everyone for checking this, it’s kind of cool that so many people care or are interested in what I’m doing.

I promise more photographs over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

