The end of sanitation, having families and alternative foie gras production

Today represents the end of Sanitation with the completion of the state exam.  I think I did pretty well with it but will find out some time next week whether I passed or not.

Next week begins Intro to Culinary I, which goes from 6:30 – 11:00 a.m for three weeks.  No one in class is sure what to expect of this one but the guess is knife skills, various cuts (dice, mince, brunoise, “turning”, etc), then moving onto stocks, consommes and possibly soups.  It will be interesting next week to see who already has skills and who doesn’t.  I fall into the “doesn’t” category but suspect I’m not the only one. 

Here are a few interesting articles to end the week on:

 The first is from the Chicago Sun-Times about chef’s finding the time to have families.  Something of interest to Erin and me.

 The second is from the N.Y. Times about the production of foie gras.  Feel free to start a debate amongst yourselves in the comments section.  I would recommend for all the folks up in arms about the production of foie gras to have a look at the mass production of chicken and pork in this country.  I guess that wouldn’t make headlines, not to mention that the Tysons and Smithfields of the world can afford whatever it takes in congress and at the state and local level to keep their sub-par products in coolers and freezers.  Oh well, these are sad times.  I will continue to ignore the law as a consumer and when I become a producer.

Have a great weekend everyone and enjoy yet some more beautiful weather.

One thought on “The end of sanitation, having families and alternative foie gras production

Leave a Reply

